Review wins 9 Oregon Newspaper Foundation awards


Sports editor Kaelia Neal, Editor-in-Chief Jonathan Williams, Assistant editor Ross Passeck and News editor Elizabeth Stoeger hold up the Review’s awards at the Oregon Newsaper Foundation awards day on May 13 at the University of Oregon.

Elizabeth Stoeger, News editor

The Linfield Review won nine awards at the 2016 Oregon Newspaper Foundation Collegiate Day awards on May 13 at the University of Oregon.

The ONF is an educational branch of the larger Oregon Newspaper Publishers Association.

Lori Shontz, professor of sports journalism at UO, gave a presentation about the importance of digging deeper into a sports story, being prepared and how to ask intelligent questions.

Brent Walth, assistant professor of journalism at UO, enlightened students on utilizing public records in gathering information for stories.

The Linfield Review won awards in categories ranging from “best cartooning” to “best headline writing.”

Sports editor Kaelia Neal, ’18, and assistant editor Ross Passeck, ’18, won first place for “best section (sports).”

“We worked really hard all year to improve the Linfield Review so it was great to earn awards to show our progress. I was really proud to earn first place for best section,” Neal said.

Passeck also won third place for “best headline writing.”

Arts and Entertainment editor Kellie Bowen, ’18, won third place for “best review.” She said the award was “an honor” and called it “a happy surprise.”

John Christensen, ’18, won third place in “best feature photo” for his photo of a student performing during a Cat Cab. “Winning an award like this means the world to me . . . to be recognized by the Oregon Newspaper Foundation for my work is absolutely amazing,” Christensen said.

Kyle Sharrer, ’16, won second place for “best cartooning,” Sam Walsh, ’19, won second place for “best review” and staff photographer Griffin Yerian, ’19, won third place for “best spot news photo.”

The Review staff won first place for “best web site” as well as third place for “general excellence.”

Editor-in-chief Jonathan Williams, ’17, news editor Elizabeth Stoeger, ’18, Passeck, and Neal represented the Review at the event.

“These awards are a testament to all of the staff’s hard work and commitment to the paper this year … I’m excited to see the paper to continue to improve,” Williams said.